A Guide to AWS Certification: 5 Things to Know

AWS Certification

Amazon Web Services (AWS) has emerged as the most popular cloud provider in the cloud industry. AWS is the pioneer in cloud computing, offering various computing services to businesses globally.

AWS is yielding a revolutionary impact by providing services such as data storage, networking, scalability, security, computing services, and more to enterprises that were previously struggling with their IT resources.

AWS is dominating the public cloud market and is the world’s most adopted cloud platform. Cloud skills are in high demand in the market. Given the popularity of AWS in the cloud niche, the best way to demonstrate that you can work with AWS is by procuring AWS certification.

AWS has now set a benchmark for its certifications. Each AWS Certification covers strong conceptual knowledge concerning the AWS platform. It combines with hands-on experience through consistent use of the platform, its components, and services daily. As AWS certification brings together both theory and practice, it is highly regarded in the IT industry.

Thus, if you are willing to develop a career in the cloud computing field if you consider undergoing AWS training, the AWS training institute in Chennai, India, will provide you with high-quality training and support to strategically align and excel in your certification exam. Once you pass successfully, the certification will provide you with a rewarding career in the IT industry. 

Procuring AWS certification indicates that you have developed industry-centric cloud competencies over time. There are various types of AWS certification exams. Here are the following exams in increasing order of difficulty:

  • AWS Certified Solutions Architect Associate (SAA-C02)
  • AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner (CLF-C01)
  • AWS Certified Developer Associate (DVA-C00, DVA-C01)
  • AWS Certified Big Data Specialty (BDS-C00)
  • AWS Certified Solutions Architect Professional (SAP-C01)
  • AWS Certified DevOps Engineer Professional (DOP-C01)
  • AWS Certified SysOps Administrator Associate (SOA-C01)
  • AWS Certified Advanced Networking Specialty (ANS-C00)
  • AWS Certified Security Specialty (SCS-C01)

Available AWS certifications & categories

AWS currently offers 11 certifications. These include:

  • A foundational certification,
  • Three associate-level certifications, 
  • Two professional-level certifications, and
  • Five specialty certifications.

Foundational Level: It only includes the Cloud Practitioner certificate. Candidates with at least six months of experience in roles that involve the AWS cloud, like technical, financial, sales, or managerial positions, can opt for it. It validates that the candidate is familiar with the AWS Cloud and associated knowledge and skills. 

Associate Level: The certifications within this category requires at least one year of previous hands-on experience and knowledge about AWS services and associated technologies. The Associate level includes the following three certifications:

  • Developer: It pertains to writing and deploying cloud-based apps.
  • SysOps Administrator: It looks into the processes to deploy, manage, and operate workloads on AWS
  • Solutions Architect: It has a key focus on designing and implementing AWS distributed systems.

Professional Level: It demands two years of experience. Candidate must have demonstrated their capability and success within their respective roles. It includes the following two certifications:

  • DevOps Engineer: It ensures that the candidate can optimally automate the testing and deployment of AWS apps and infrastructure.
  • Solutions Architect: Candidates can efficiently engage in designing, deploying, and evaluating AWS apps in complex and diverse environments.

Specialty certifications: The above three categories involve role-based certifications. Specialty certifications, on the other hand, evaluate specific technical areas, including,

What is the cost of AWS certification?

Several factors are involved in AWS certification that determines the cost. Besides the registration and examination fee, you need to consider other details. It also includes the costs for paid classroom or remote training, practice exam, and course materials. 

What is the validity of AWS certification?

AWS certification has a validity of three years. If you intend to maintain your AWS-certified status, you need to apply for re-certification. It will allow you to periodically demonstrate your continued expertise in AWS services. 

What are the various benefits of obtaining AWS Certification?

  • Cloud is the Future of Business Technology: Most businesses now depend on cloud computing. It offers various benefits, as it is economical, fast, and highly advanced. It does not present integration problems or requires heavy maintenance. AWS has emerged as the leader in cloud computing. Hence, you should consider opting for it.
  • Door-Openers: AWS certification functions as door openers. It gives you leverage over candidates who do not possess the certification. AWS certifications are one of the top-paying cloud certifications. It can improve your employability opportunity, thus enabling you to land your dream AWS job and commit to supporting it. Not only this, you will be in a better position to earn a higher salary hence improving your prospects. 
  • Become a part of the AWS community: AWS certification provides you access to the AWS community. Thus, you can view and connect with worldwide AWS-certified professionals and gain access to ideas and opportunities. 
  • Reasonable and Within Reach: Vendors offer tons of certifications for cloud computing. But, within this lot, AWS certification tends to stand out. AWS certification is highly cost-effective, and you can easily find resources and certification support, including whitepapers, documentation, and instructor-led training courses for your certification journey. When you prepare for the exam, it will help reinforce your knowledge of key concepts, improve skills and grasp new ones, and correct outdated/wrong knowledge. You can effectively increase your competitiveness and negotiate your salary. 

To Conclude:

Based on your experience level and the career path you desire, you can choose the right AWS certification for you. It will help you obtain specific professional roles in the future and improve your prospects in the competitive market.

The highly preferred AWS certification in today’s environment will validate your knowledge and competency. Enroll in training now to prepare for the concerned AWS certification exam.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here